I’ve been compulsively checking the finals schedule at Willamette the last couple days. I keep convincing myself I’ve forgotten to go the exam and I’m doomed. This whole graduation thing is very surreal. It feels a very long way off, like a few months at least, probably more than a year. It’s this Sunday.

After tomorrow, my undergraduate education will be complete. The next time I walk into a class, I’ll be teaching it.

Whenever I’m confronted with dramatic change, I tend to focus my mind on the distant future or the distant past. Lately I’ve been reminiscing about high school proms and muttering answers to positions we lost this season. And thinking about the future, about law school or grad school, making piles of money, maybe writing the Great American Novel, etc..Really, though, my mind should be in the present. It’s all happening.

