My inability to cook is just plain old silly. It’s costing me money (did you know granola is like 6 times cheaper than granola bars?!?) and making me eat unhealthy crap, so I’m going to learn to make things to eat for myself. I’m talking beyond adding milk to a bowl of cereal. So here’s the first in a series of recipes that I can actually cook. And if I can do it, I know you can do it.

Ingredients:

  • Box of Zataran’s Spanish Rice Mix
  • Can of Crushed Tomatoes with Peppers (15 oz)
  • 1/2 Pound ground beef
  • Pepperjack Cheese (to taste)
  • Green Bell Peppers (3)
  • Half a yellow onion
  • One clove of garlic

Steps:

  1. Follow the directions on the Spanish Rice mix box. While waiting on the rice:
  2. Chop the tops off the bell peppers and pull out the seeds and stuff.
  3. Brown the ground beef in a frying pan, along with the onion and garlic.
  4. Preheat the oven to about 350.
  5. By now, the rice should be done. Add the ground beef and cheese and stir it up.
  6. Put the rice-beef-cheese mixture into the peppers. Fill ’em up to the top!
  7. Pop the peppers into the oven and leave them there for 12-15 minutes.

So, I realize that using zataran’s is cheating and that it’s easy to make spanish rice without a box, but that’s more complicated than I’m ready for at the moment. Anyway, this stuff is actually pretty good! Enjoy!

