Lately I’ve been weighing job offers and trying to figure out how I can survive on a miserable pittance of a salary. Crunching some numbers on a spreadsheet, I realized that I eat out way too much. And when I don’t eat out, I usually eat processed foods (like those ready-made burritos at safeway) that cost almost as much. So now I’m trying to figure out what I can actually make to eat for myself without resorting to heavily processed foods. And note, I put the word “heavily” in there because I’m still not willing to cut up vegatbles for myself. Not going all hippie here…:

  • Chili: remarkably easy–you just chop up some stuff, mix it with some ground beef in a pot, add some spices and heat it up!
  • Stuffed Peppers: fill a green bell pepper with rice and stuff and stick it in the over for a bit. So far I’ve just used Spanish Rice mix from the grocery store, but next time i’m going to mix in a little ground beef. I might even try to make my OWN spanish rice.
  • Stir Fry: rice+bag of frozen veggies that say “stir fry”. I realize this doesn’t really count, but it’s easy and tasty!
  • Nachos: Chips, cheese, salsa, and whatever other Mexican-type ingrediaents you have lying around.
  • Spaghetti: Using store-bought pasta sauce, of course.
  • Quesadillas: continuing the easy-to-make tex mex phenomenon
  • Eggs: scrambled, fried, etc…

Embarrassingly, that is literally everything I can think of right now. I almost added “frozen pizza” and “granola bar.” Clearly, I have some work to do.

