A middle school principle should not ever, ever, EVER be allowed to strip search a 13-year-old girl without the consent of her parents. Not ever. You’d think that would go without saying. But for the 70-year-old men on the Supreme Court, it’s no biggie. The court heard oral argument this week on the case of Savana Redding, a girl who was strip searched after some one told the principal she was passing out ibuprofen.

Justice Breyer, who’s supposed to be one of the good guys, can’t see why forcing a young teenage girl to disrobe on command from her teachers might be a problem. “In my experience when I was 8 or 10 or 12 years old, you know, we did take our clothes off once a day, we changed for gym, OK? And in my experience, too, people did sometimes stick things in my underwear.”

What? And that was Breyer. By Dahlia Lithwick’s account, Scalia and Thomas were gleefully chortling at the ridiculousness of the ACLU’s claim that you should think twice before demanding a teen strip. Slate intern Lindsey Hough was strip searched when she was in middle school, and captures my outrage perfectly:

They made me take the shirt off, and obliterated any sense of autonomy I thought I had. I got the sense the counselor knew she was doing something fishy but covered by “bringing in the nurse who has to check it out.” Forced to sit shirtless in front of these two women, I felt exposed and humiliated, embarrassed and angry. I felt they weren’t just judging my actions but my body. We talk a lot on the XX Factor about young women and their changing ideas about privacy. But no matter who you are, being forced to take your clothes off against your will is an act of humiliation, embarrassment, and violation. It stings to know that 8 years after my own strip search, those feelings still don’t matter.

