Yesterday was Student Scholarship Recognition Day (SSRD), a silly but glorious excuse for 90% of students to sleep in and 10% of students to try to impress their professors. Falling in the majority, I elected to sleep in. But by 6PM I still haven’t left my apartment and the Xbox was losing my attention. I was hungry, but for some reason Subway didn’t sound appetizing. I was craving chili–the homemade kind served with cornbread.

I’m not a horrible cook, I’m just not a cook. At least, I haven’t been. I’ve always thought of food preperation as a waste of time–all that cutting, dicing, boiling, etc… is unnecessary when you can just heat something up in the microwave. Also, I’ve always been scared of cooking with meat because I’m afraid of messing it up and poisoning myself. But this week, I conquored the fear. I made a meal! With meat! Like this:

Ingredients:

  • One thingy of ground beef
  • A big yellow onion, chopped up
  • A big can of cut up tomatoes
  • A few little garlic clumps, chopped up
  • 2 smaller cans of black beans (could use pinto or kidney beans, if their names weren’t gross)
  • A couple jalepenos chopped up
  • Quite a bit of chili powder
  • Some cayenne pepper
  • Some ground cumin

(there might be some other stuff but I think that’s all)

Directions

  1. Put the ground beef in a big pot and turn on the heat until it starts getting brown.
  2. Put in the garlic, onions, and spices and mix it all up for a little while.
  3. Put in the other stuff (oh yeah, drain the beans!)
  4. Boil it for a minute or two
  5. Turn down the heat and let it do something called “simmer” (“shimmer”?) for 15 minutes
  6. Eat it! Recommended with sour creme mixed up into it.

This would probably be even better with real beef, but I don’t know what that’s called or how to cook it.

Hooray for cooking! Makes enough to eat a lot and still have leftovers later.

