The problem with the internet is that it’s too big. You know there’s tons of cool stuff out there, but it can be damn near impossible to find anything interesting unless you already know what you’re looking for. That’s why, on the recommendation of my friendly neighbors, I’ve started Stumbling around the internet.

StumbleUpon is one of those web apps that I’ve heard about and seen little clicky-buttons for all over the place, but never really checked out. I’m incredibly glad I did. Basically, you tell StumbleUpon what kind of web content interests you and it gives you a nifty toolbar with three important buttons: the stumble button, which whisks you away to a new page (kinda like the random article button on wikipedia), the “i like it” button, and the “i don’t like it” button. The last two let you tweak your preferences much like Pandora lets you tweak your music preferences.

But the proof is in the pudding. In 20 minutes of Stumbling, here’s some of the cool stuff I’ve found:

I never would have found any of these without stumbling because I never would have thought to look for them. Well worth checking out…but a WARNING: this will suck time away very rapidly and very sneakily.

