My apartment is party central. The other guys I live with are extremely social, friendly, well-connected guys. One the one hand, this is great for me. I am never lacking for people to hang out with or a party to go to.

On the other hand, I’m never lacking for people to hang out with. Living in a single last year I got used to my privacy. I came to expect my bedroom to be a little sphere of privacy totally sealed from the outside world unless I chose to open it. Living in an apartment is different. I still have a private bedroom, but it borders the living room so sound drifts in. It’s also across the hall from the bathroom, so when twenty people are playing beer pong I’m acutely aware of their presence.

It’s not that I mind having people over. I actually think it’s great, most of the time. The problem is I don’t feel like I have ability to be alone. I’m just constantly surrounded by people to the point that it’s hard to find time to think. That’s one reason the idea of turning my bed into a little tent is so appealing.